Current post
Consultant Urological Surgeon Barts Health NHS Trust (Barts & The London NHS Trust and
Newham University Hospital NHS Trust until amalgamation April 2012), 1996 to present.

Honorary Visiting Professor at City, University of London

Ex Clinical  Director Surgery & Anaesthesia Newham University Hospital NHS Trust, 2011-12


  • MBBS St. George's Hospital Medical School, University of London, England,
  • FRCS Eng Fellowship of The Royal College of Surgeons of England, 1989
  • FRCS Ed Fellowship of The Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh, 1989
  • MS Master of Surgery [by Research], University of London, 1994
  • FRCS(Urol) Intercollegiate specialist urology examination, 1995
  • FEBU Fellowship of The European Board of Urology, 1997
  • MML  Master of Medical Law, University of Glasgow, 2010


  • 1996 Travelling Fellowship of The Section of Urology of The Royal Society of
    Medicine (RSM)
  • 1996 William Cook Travelling Fellowship
  • 1996 Ethicon Foundation Fund Travel Award
  • 2008 British Urological Foundation Prostate Brachytherapy Scholarship
  • 2008 National Clinical Excellence Award holder
  • 2012 National Award Winner QiC excellence in oncology
  • 2013 MBE for services to the NHS
  • 2013 Bevan Prize for health and wellbeing, inaugural award - finalist
  • 2015 Honorary Visiting Professor at City University (School of Health Sciences)

Urological Training - UK

Date Hospital/Specialty Consultant
October 1995- July 1996 Senior Registrar Urology
University Hospital Birmingham
Mr A Arnold
Mr D Farrar
Mr M Hughes
Mr M Wallace
October 1994- September 1995 Senior Registrar Urology
Royal Hospitals Shrewsbury
Mr C Beacock
Mr A Hay
October 1993- September 1994 Career Registrar Urology
N. Staffs Hospital, Stoke
Mr S Coppinger
Mr M French
Mr S Liu
July 1993- September 1993 Career Registrar Urology
Selly Oak Hosp., Birmingham
Mr D Farrar
Mr M Foster
July 1992- June 1993 Registrar Urology
Dudley Road Hospital, Birmingham
Mr D Arkell
Mr P Ryan
September 1990- June 1992 Research Registrar Urology
Royal Free Medical School
Mr A Kaisary
Professor K Hobbs

Overseas training

  • 1996 Further training Case Western Reserve University, Ohio with Professor
  • TUNA training Brussels 2004
  • TVT training Paris 2006
  • 2008 prostate brachytherapy training, Seattle, USA



Professional memberships


  • 1998 - Chairman of Cancer Black Care (a UK National Charity)
  • 2001 - 2003 Founding President of the Black & Ethnic Minority Health
    Section, Royal Society of Medicine
  • 2002 - Award: Man of Merit, by The Executive Professional Network, UK
  • 2003 - Nigerian Achievement Award
  • Media work - radio [BBC Radio five live, BBC Radio London, Station FM,
    Colorful radio], TV [Channel 4, LA7-Italy, Sky News, ITV 1], print media
  • Medico-legal reports
  • Selector for medical school entry
  • Final MBBS examiner Barts, Imperial College
  • Member & spokesman of prostate cancer charter for action 
  • Member of Cancer Campaigning Group  [link to website]
  • Prostate Cancer Research Foundation - Trustee (2003) &
    Scientific Board Member. 2011 merged with Prostate UK to form Prostate Action  - Trustee - 2012
  • 2013 Trustee of Prostate Cancer Support Federation (PCSF)
  • 2007 Department of Health  (DH) Advisor  [Government
    News Network]
      - Cancer Reform Strategy Advisory Board
  • 2007 Prostate Cancer Advisory Group -appointed by
  • 2008 National Cancer Equality Initiative member
    -appointed by DH
  • 2008 National Cancer Survivorship Initiative -
    children and young persons sub-committee member -appointed DH
  • 2008 National Bowel Screening Advisory Committee
    -appointed by DH
  • 2008 United Kingdom Lung Cancer Coalition
  • 2008 Royal College of Surgeons of England advisory
    appointments panel member
  • 2011 National BME Cancer Alliance
  • 2014 Co-chair Prostate Cancer Advisory Group
  • 2014 Chairperson of Clincal Advisory Board of Tackle prostate cancer (PCSF)
  • 2015 Member of Scientific Reference Committee of the Prostate Cancer Risk Management Programme
  • 2022 Freedom of the City of London award